Cassiopeia Winds

Cassiopeia Winds

Cassiopeia Winds is an Irish chamber wind ensemble formed in 2010, whose performances are marked by vivacity, panache and a dedication to the exploration of fine sound-worlds.

Though the ensemble has the capacity to expand or contract to suit its innovative programming, at its core is a quintet of players whose members are among the finest in the country, including players from the National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland, RTÉ Concert Orchestra and the Crash Ensemble – Catriona Ryan, Matthew Manning, Deirdre O’Leary, John Hearne and Cormac O hAodáin.

Autumn Tour Programme
Cassiopeia’s programme is unashamedly melodic, and pays homage to the French origins of wind chamber music with the foundation of La Société de Musique de Chambre pour Instruments à Vent in 1879. While the choice of music may have France as a common theme, they are not shying away from the more modern day sound world: showcasing the work of composers who lived between the years of 1875 and 2013. This is represented in the broadly diverse styles of music performed:

  • Quintette en ut Claude Arrieu (9’)
  • Pavane pour une infante défunte Maurice Ravel (6’)
  • Quintette N°.1 Jean Françaix (20’)
  • Le Tombeau de Couperin Maurice Ravel (15’)
  • Novelette Francis Poulenc (3’)
  • Dix-sept Variations Jean-Michel Damase (14’)

For more information, contact The Source Arts Centre at 0504 90204 or Tickets cost €15/12 early bird (limited numbers)


16 Sep 2023

More Info

Make Your Booking


The Source Arts Centre
The Source Arts Centre, Cathedral Street, Thurles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to content